How do I water my lawn properly?
What is thatch? And what can I do about it?
How do I fertilize my lawn?






How do I water my lawn properly? back to top

Proper watering techniques are absolutely essential to an Ecology Friendly Lawn, and can result in water savings, and reduce disease & insect and weed infestations.Watering techniques should be adjusted during the growing season to compensate for precipitation and lengthy hot and dry periods. The amount of water and the duration of each watering period should be adjusted according to soil types and grass types. A high cutting height will also help to retain moisture.

Measure the Water with a Cup
Every home has different water pressure, pipe size, and sprinkler types, so you need to measure your system in order to determine the amount of time required to apply the necessary water. Place a flat bottomed, straight sided cup, like a coffee cup, under the water sprinkler and measure the time it takes to collect 1 inch (2.5 cm) of water in the bottom of the cup. You can use this time to determine how long your sprinkler needs to run to apply the necessary amount of water. You can also ask your local Nutri-Lawn for a free watering measuring cup.

Apply 1 inch (2.5 cm) of water, once per week in early morning (vs. mid-day or evening).
Avoid watering in the afternoon because a large percentage of the water is lost to evaporation. Avoid evening watering because the lawn will remain wet for 12 to 15 hours, until the following morning sun dries off the lawn. This prolonged wet period can increase fungal disease incidence.

With sandy soils apply 3/4 inch (2 cm) once every 5 days.
Sandy soils cannot retain as much water as clay loam soils, and require more frequent watering of smaller volumes.

Increase watering frequency during hot periods.
To maintain a lush lawn during the hot periods of the summer more frequent applications are required. Generally one application of water every 4 to 5 days is adequate. Sandy soils may require an application of water every 3 to 4 days.

Watering on Slopes
If you have lawn area on a slope, it is important to use a low volume water sprinkler or order to allow the water time to be absorbed by the lawn. If the water is applied too quickly much of the water will not be absorbed by the lawn and will run off down the slope. Soil aeration greatly enhances water pentration on slopes and is recommended as an annual service in these areas.

Watering Near Trees
Trees take up an enormous amount of water every day, pulling the soil moisture away from the surface via an extensive network of fiberous roots. Because of this, the surround grass is often the first to show signs of drought stress. It's important to remember that when watering grass around large trees that you need to increase the frequency of watering in order to prevent the grass from turning brown.





What is thatch? And what can I do about it? back to top

Description
Thatch can be described as a tight and fibrous layer of living and dead matter, primarily roots of the grass, which develops between the plant and the soil. Many people think that grass clippings contribute to thatch, however grass clippings consist primarily of water and dry up and disintegrate. Thatch consists of woody plant material like roots, rhizomes and stolons that are slow to breakdown.

What Causes Thatch?
- Heavy fertilization can cause rapid thatch development. Nutri-Lawn's programs are designed to create healthy lawns and do to use excessive fertilizing. Excessive fertilizing can create a lush green lawn in a short period of time, but it leads to a variety of problems in the long term, including excessive thatch.

- Acidic soils, waterlogged soils or fungicide applications inhibit soil micoorganism activity. It is the microbes that biodegrade or breakdown the thatch layer, and if they are inhibited the thatch layer will accumulate.

- Excessive watering will encourage thatch development as well as shallow roots. Excessive watering saturates the soil and roots will not grow into a water saturated soil. The roots will grow on the surface of the soil and in the thatch layer, rather than deep into the soil. This creates a lawn that is susceptible to drought and root feeding insect damage.

- Some grass species are prone to excessive thatch development. Kentucky Bluegrass, Fine Fescues and Bentgrass tend to thatch up quickly. Perennial Ryegrass is not prone to thatch development because it is a bunch type grass that does not spread by rhizomes or stolons.


Advantages
A thin layer of thatch of about 1.5 cm is beneficial because it acts like a mulch, buffering temperature extremes at the soil surface and helping to retain soil moisture. A thin thatch layer is also beneficial because it will inhibit weed seed germination and establishment.

Disadvantages
When the thatch layer grows thicker than 1.5 cm it becomes detrimental to the health of the lawn. Excessive thatch inhibits the movement of water, nutrients and air into the soil, resulting in shallow roots and a lawn highly susceptible to drought and root feeding insect damage. Excessive thatch also makes it difficult to control root feeding insects. The thatch layer impedes the movement of pest controls into the soi, reducing the efficacy of the treatment. A thick thatch layer is the perfect environment for some insects. Chinch Bugs will flourish in a thick thatch layer and can cause extensive damage. Disease organisms reside in the thatch layer and when environmental conditions are conducive for the disease, an outbreak can occur.

What Can Be Done to Control Excessive Thatch
Annual soil core aeration is strongly recommended as the best method to manage thatch development in a lawn. Soil core aeration pulls plugs of soil and thatch out of the lawn, breaking up the thatch layer and allowing the roots to grow into the soil rather than on the surface. Organics Plus Topdressing applications help to mange thatch layer development by inoculating the thatch with billions of micro-organisms that will biodegrade and breakdown the thatch. Power Raking slices and cuts the thatch layer, enhancing the penetration of water, air and nutrients into the soil which leads to an increase in microbial activity and biodegradation of the thatch. Compost Teas or other microbial application innoculate the thatch with billions of microbes that biodegrade the thatch. Aerated compost teas that have been professionally brewed can have over a billion microorganisms per ml.





How do I fertilize my lawn? back to top

Choosing the best fertilizer
Always use granular fertilizer with a significant proportion of its nitrogen in slow-acting form (WIN, or water insoluble) to deliver basic nutrition to turfgrass. It provides steady, constant sustenance over an extended period, minimizing the time you spend fertilizing. Organic fertilizers whose nutrients are derived from plant and animal sources are always slow-acting. Liquid fertilizers, either granular or powders to be mixed in water, are almost always quick-acting. Because their nitrogen dissolves in water, it is absorbed so rapidly by grass plants that repeat fertilization is necessary many times over the season. The strong doses of nitrogen it delivers each time may stress grass and acidify the soil somewhat, irritating soil organisms. Store left over granular fertilizer in an airtight bag or container. If you have only a few pounds left, use it on other parts of your property. Slow-acting lawn fertilizer is suitable for planting beds and under shrubs, hedges, and trees. Sprinkle it lightly to get good coverage around the yard. The rain will soak it into the soil.

Choosing the best spreader
Spreading granular fertilizer by casting handfuls over the turf is appropriate and easy for small lawns (under 1000 square feet). However, it is very difficult to get a uniform application this way. Use either a drop or rotary (spinner or cyclone) spreader for large lawns. The drop spreader is cheaper, but the rotary spreader is more effective in getting uniform coverage. With the rotary action the throw pattern of the fertilizer "feathers" out along the edges so that the margins of each pass blend together uniformly. They are available in hand held (good for under 5000 square feet) models or on wheels. Never store leftover granular fertilizer in your spreader. Fertilizer absorbs moisture from the air and cakes up. Then it promotes deterioration from chemical reactions with the metal of the spreader. If your spreader is caked with fertilizer, clean it out thoroughly. Use water if necessary, but do not put any more fertilizer into the spreader until the interior is absolutely dry. Use some penetrating oil on the moving levers and parts periodically to keep them operating smoothly.

Fertilizing Techniques
When spreading granular lawn fertilizer there are two problems -- using too much fertilizer and missing spots that become embarrassingly obvious later when the rest of the lawn turns green. Mow the lawn first, so you can see the distribution pattern easier. All spreaders have numbered devices to control the flow of the granules from the spreader as you push it. They are sometimes difficult to use. When in doubt, adjust the setting by sight. Correctly dispersed, the density of fertilizer granules should resemble the decorative sugar sprinkles on a cookie. There is more bare space than granules. Test the dispersal rate of your spreader on bare soil or on a paved surface. When in doubt, spread less rather than more fertilizer. Drop Spreader on the left and Rotary Spreader on the right To avoid making obvious "fertilizer stripes" in the lawn with a drop spreader divide the fertilizer supply in half and set the spreader to apply at one half the recommended rate. Then cover the lawn twice, pacing the pattern of the second application perpendicular to the first one. While it is not necessary with a rotary spreader, the technique of spreading half, then the other half of the fertilizer in different directions is still a good idea. It takes more time, but the coverage is much more uniform.

Watering in fertilizer
It is not essential to water in slow-acting fertilizer, but it does not hurt. It insures that the fertilizer begins working right away. Otherwise, the next rain will soak it in. However, quick-acting granular fertilizer must be watered in immediately after spreading to prevent it from burning the grass plants. Watering also triggers the release of the nitrogen right away, since that type of fertilizer is water soluable.





Sources: Nutri-Lawn: Ecology Friendly Lawn Care (www.nutrilawn.com) , Yardener (www.yardener.com).




The Lewis Landscaping Green Guide provides our visitors with basic lawn and garden care tips. We base our information on frequently asked questions from our customers.

If you would like any other information added to our guide or require personal lawn and garden care assistance feel free to contact us.
© Copyright 2005 Paysagiste Lewis Landscaping. All Rights Reserved.Montreal Web Design by: Imagined

Comment est-ce que j’arrose ma pelouse correctement?
C’est quoi le chaume? Et qu’est-ce je peux faire à son sujet?
Comment est-ce que je fertilise ma pelouse?






Comment est-ce que j’arrose ma pelouse correctement? retournez en haut

Les correctes techniques d’arrosage sont absolument essentielles pour une pelouse qui respecte l’écologie; elles peuvent réduire les coûts pour l’eau et aussi réduire les maladies, ainsi que les infestations d’insectes et de mauvaise herbes. Les techniques d’arrosage devraient être ajustées pendant la saision de croissance pour compenser la précipitation et les périodes longues de la chaleur et sécheresse. La quantité d’eau et la durée de chaque période d’arrosage devraient être ajustées selon les types de la terre et du gazon. Une pelouse tontée à une hauteur assez haute conservera l’humidité.

Mesurez l'eau avec une tasse
Chaque maison a sa proper pression d’eau, largeur de tuyaux et type d’arroseur, alors il faut que vous mesurez votre système pour déterminer le temps requis pour l’application de l’eau nécessaire. Posez une tasse avec un fond plat et côtés raides en dessous de l’arroseur et mesurez le temps que ça prend pour accumuler 1 pouce (2.5 cm) d’eau au fond de la tasse. Ceci est le temps que votre arroseur faut pour appliquer l’eau nécessaire à votre pelouse.

Appliquez 1 pouce (2.5 cm) d’eau, une fois par semaine au matin (vs. au midi ou la soirée)
Évitez l’arrosage pendant l’après-midi car une grande pourcentage de l’eau sera perdue en la forme d’évaporation. Évitez l’arrosage aussi pendant la soirée car votre pelouse restera mouillée pendant 12 à 15 heures, jusqu’au lever du soleil le prochain matin. Cette période d’humidité prolongée peut augmenter la risque de l’occurrence de la maladie fongique.

Appliquez ¾ pouce (2 cm) d’eau aux sols arénacés à chaque 5 jours
Les sols qui contiennent une grande quantité de sable ne peuvent pas conserver le montant que les sols de type d’argile, et doivent être arrosés plus fréquement avec moins d’eau.

Augmentez la fréquence d’arrosage pendant les temps chauds
En but de maintenir une pelouse luxueuse malgré la chaleur, il est nécessaire d’arroser l’arroser plus souvent. En générale, une arrosage à chaque 4 à 5 jours est suffisante. Les sols arénacés peuvent nécessités une arrosage à chaque 3 à 4 jours.

L’arrosage sur les pentes
Si votre pelouse est sur une pente, il est important d’utilier un arroseur qui émet un petit volume d’eau pour donner l’eau assez de temps pour être absorbée par la pelouse. Si l’eau est appliquée trops rapidement, elle ne sera pas absorber et au lieu coulera en bas de la pente. L’aération du sol rend la pénétration de l’eau beaucoup plus effective sur les pentes et il est recommandé d’avoir ce service performé annuellement.

L’arrosage près des arbres
Les arbres prennent une quantité d’eau immense chaque jour, ce qui tire l’humidité du sol loin de sa surface via un réseau étendu de racines fibreuses. À cause de ceci, l’herbe environnante est souvent la première à démontrer des signes de la sécheresse. Il est important de s’en rappeller que l’arrosage près des arbres doit se faire faire plus souvent pour empêcher l’herbe de devenir brune.





C’est quoi le chaume? Et qu’est-ce je peux faire à son sujet? retournez en haut

Description
Le chaume est une couche serrée et fibreuse de matières organiques, mortes et vivantes, comme les racines du gazon. Beaucoup de gens pensent que c’est principalement les coupures d’herbes qui contribuent à l’accumulation du chaume, mais les herbes consistent surtout d’eau et alors sèchent et se désintégrent. Le chaume consiste de matières végétaux boisées comme les racines et rhizomes qui prennent longtemps pour être décomposés.

Que cause le chaume?
- Trops de fertilization peut causer un développement rapide de chaume. Lorsque beaucoup de fertilisation peut créer une pelouse luxurieuse en peut de temps, ça peut aussi générer plusieurs problèmes à long terme, le chaume excessif compris.

- Les sols acides ou les infestations fongiques empêchent l’activité des micro-organismes du sol. Ce sont ces microbes qui décomposent la couche de chaume et s’ils sont empêchés le chaume continuera à s’accumuler.

- L’arrosage excessif encouragera le développement du chaume ainsi que les racines peu profondes. L’arrosage excessif sature le sol et cause un environnement qui n’encourage pas la croissance des racines. Ils sont alors forcées de pousser à la surface, dans la couche de chaume, au lieu de profond dans le sol. Ceci crée aussi une pelouse qui est susceptible à la sécheresse et à la détruite des racines par les insectes qui les mangent.

- Quelques types de gazon sont susceptiles au développement excessif du chaume. Kentucky Bluegrass, Fine Fescues et Bentgrass tendent au développement rapide du chaume. Perennial Ryegrass n’est pas du même vexe car elle ne diffuse pas des rhizomes.

Avantages
Une couche mince de chaume d’environ 1.5 cm est avantageuse car elle agit comme un paillis, protègant le sol en dessous contre la perte de l’humidité. Elle est aussi avantageuse car elle empêche la germination et l’établissement des graines des mauvaises herbes.

Désavantages
Quand la couche de chaume dépasse une épaisseur de 1.5 cm, elle devient nuisible à la santé de la pelouse. Le chaume excessif empêche l’eau, les éléments nutritifs et l’air d’atteindre le sol, ce qui résulte avec des racines peu profondes une pelouse susceptible à la sécheresse et à la détruite des racines par les insectes qui les mangent. Le chaume excessif nuit le contrôle des insectes qui se nourissent sur les racines des herbes. Elle empêche la motion des contrôles des parasites dans le sol, réduisant l’efficacité du traitement. Une couche de chaume épaisse est l’environnement parfaite pour certain insectes, comme le « Chinch Bug » qui est connue à causer des dommages vastes. Les organismes maladifs résident dans le couche épaisse et quand les conditions environmentales favorisent ces organismes, un déclenchement de la maladie peut se produire.

Ce qui peut-être fait pour contrôler le chaume excessif
L’aération annuelle est fortement recommandée comme la meilleure méthode de contrôler le développement du chaume. L’aération tire des bouchées de terre et de chaume hors de la pelouse, cassant la couche de chaume, laissant les racines pousser dedans le sol au lieu de sur la surface. La ratissage à force découpe le chaume, augmentant la pénétration de l’eau, l’air et éléments nutritifs dans le sol, ce qui augmente l’activité des microbes et la biodégradation du chaume. Les application microbiennes, comme le thé de compost, entourent le chaume avec des milliards de microbes qui le biodégradent. Un thé de compost qui a été brassé professionellement peuvent contenir plus qu’un milliard de micro-organismes par mL.





Comment est-ce que je fertilise ma pelouse? retournez en haut

Choisir le meilleur engrais
Utilisez toujours un engrais granulaire avec une proportion significative de son azote qui agit lentement, donc insoluble dans l’eau, pour livrer une nutrition de base au gazon. Il fourni une nourriture régulière et constante pour une période de temps étendue, réduisant le nombre de fois que vous aurez besoin de fertiliser votre pelouse. Les engrais organiques, qui ont des éléments nutritifs dérivés des sources de plantes et d’animaux, sont du genre qui agissent lentement. Les engrais liquides, sois granulaires ou poudres qui doivent être mélangées avec l’eau, agissent presque toujours rapidement. Puisque leur azote se dissout dans l’eau, ils sont absorbés tellement rapidement par les herbes que la fertilisation répétée est nécessaire plusieurs fois pendant la saison. Les doses fortes d’azote qu’ils livrent chaque fois peuvent stresser le gazon et légèrement acidifier le sol, irritant les organismes du sol. Stockez l’engrais excès dans un sac our récipient hermétique. S’il vous reste seulement quelques livres d’engrais, utilisez les sur d’autres parties de votre propriété. Un engrais qui agit lentement approprié pour les arbustes, les haies et les arbres. Sapoudrez le légèrement pour bien recouvrir la cour. La pluie l’imbibera dedans le sol.

Choisir le meilleur épandeur
Disperser l’engrais granulaire en jettant des poignées au dessus la pelouse est approprié et facile pour des petites pelouses (moins que 1000 pieds carrés). Cependant, il est très difficile d’obtenir une application uniforme de cette manière. L’épandeur à gravité est moins cher, mais l’épandeur rotatif est plus efficace en obtenant une application uniforme. Avec l’action de l’épandeur rotatif, l’engrais se déploye dans une manière que les marges de chaque passe mélange ensemble uniformément. Les épandeur sont offerts en modèles qui se font poussés par la main (bien pour moins que 5000 pieds carrés) ou qui sont à roues. Ne stockez jamais l’excès de l’engrais dans votre épandeur. L’engrais absorbe l’humidité de l’air et durcit. Puis, avec des réactions chimiques, il encourage la détérioration du métal de l’épandeur. Si votre épandeur est recouvert d’engrais durci, nettoyez-le complètement. Utilisez l’eau si nécessaire, mais ne rajouttez aucun autre engrais dans l’épandeur s’il n’est pas encore absolumment sec. Utilisez l’huile de dégrappage sur les leviers et pièces mobiles périodiquement pour les guarder en bonne opération.

Les techniques de la fertilisation
Il y a deux problèmes quand on fertilise la pelouse : d’utiliser trops d’engrais et de manquer des endroits qui deviennent tellement évident lorsque le reste de la pelouse devient vert que c’est honteux. Tondez la pelouse en premier, vous verrez la modèle de distribution plus facilement. Tous les épandeurs ont un dispositif qui contrôle l’écoulement des granules pandant que vous poussez l’épandeur. Ils peuvent être difficile à utiliser. Si vous êtes en doute, ajustez le réglage en accordance avec ce que vous voyez. Quand dispersé correctement, la densité des graines d’engrais devraient ressembler celle des décors de sucre sur un biscuit. Il devrait avoir plus de surface nue que de graines. Évaluez la vitesse de dispersion de votre épandeur sur une surface pavée. Si en doute, dispersez moins plutôt que plus d’engrais. Pour éviter de laisser des raies d’engrais sur votre pelouse avec un épandeur à gravité, divisez la réserve d’engrais en deux et fixez l’épandeur pour l’appliquer à moitié de la vitesse suggérée. Puis, recouvrez la pelouse deux fois, avec le motif de la deuxième application perpendiculaire à la première. Malgré que ceci n’est pas nécessaire avec un épandeur rotatif, cette technique est encore une bonne idée. Oui, ça prend plus de temps, mais l’application est beaucoup plus uniforme.

L’arrosage après l’application de l’engrais
Il n’est pas essentielle d’arroser sol recouvert d’un engrais qui agit lentement, mais ce n’est pas mal non plus. Ça assure que l’engrais commcera son travail immédiatement. Autrement, la prochaine pluie l’imbibera dedans le sol. Pourtant, un engrais granulaire qui agit rapidement doit être arrosé juste après l’application pour l’empêcher de brûler l’herbe et les plantes. L’arrosage déclenche également le dégagement de l’azote tout de suite, car ce type d’engrais est soluble dans l’eau.





Sources: Nutri-Lawn: Ecology Friendly Lawn Care (www.nutrilawn.com) , Yardener (www.yardener.com).




Le guide vert du Paysagiste Lewis fourni nos visiteurs avec des conseils de base pour le soin de leurs pelouses et jardins. Nous basons la sélection de notre information sur les questions demandés les plus fréquemment.

Si vous aimeriez voir d’autres informations ajoutés à notre guide ou avez besoin de l’assistance avec le soin de votre pelouse ou jardin, n’hésitez pas de nous contacter.
© Copyright 2005-2006 Paysagiste Lewis Landscaping. Tous droits réservés.Imagined.ca